1st Announcement


July 24th, 2022
CD2023 Website opens.

Welcome Message

Dear colleagues,

For the sake of our continual scientific communications on chiroptical spectroscopy research, and on behalf of the organizing committee, we owe the pleasure to announce our hosting for the coming 19th International Conference on Chiroptical Spectroscopy (CD2023) in Hiroshima, Japan. The CD2023 aims to overview and share the significant, recent and unique scientific research results related to chiroptical spectroscopy, exchange the intellectual knowledge among the leading experts, scientists, young researchers and users, in addition to extend the scientific activities by promoting new collaborations all over the world, giving the stimulating discussions. The CD2023 will broaden its scope, while strengthening the cross-linking between the academic fields including life science, organic and inorganic science, and materials science.

International Conference on Chiroptical Spectroscopy which was born in 1985 with the name of International Conference on Circular Dichroism Spectroscopy, has been organized in USA, EURO, and Japan in alternate years.

In Japan, Hiroshima will be the third venue, after Sendai in 2001 and Sapporo in 2015. So, it is a great honor for us to welcome you in Hiroshima and help to deepen our amities. Together with an outstanding scientific program, we are sure that all participants in CD2023 will find a lot of hospitality accompanied with the beautiful landscapes, people, foods, history, and traditions of Hiroshima.

Koichi Matsuo

Important Dates

Abstract: Abstract submission will open around January 2023
Early registrations: Registration will open around January 2023
Conference dates: September 17-21, 2023


Techniques, Instrumentations and Methods for Chiroptical Properties
  • Magnetic Circular Dichroism (MCD)
  • Synchrotron Radiation Circular Dichroism (SRCD)
  • Imaging Techniques (e.g. Spatially-Resolved CD and CPL Microscopy)
  • Time-Resolved Techniques
  • Theory and Computational Methods
  • Other New Chiroptical Techniques

Application Fields
  • Biopolymers (e.g. Proteins, DNA, RNA, Carbohydrates, Lipids)
  • Nanoparticles, Nanomaterials and Surface Science
  • Supramolecules
  • Stereochemical Molecules
  • Homochirality
  • Biopharmaceutics
  • Plasmonic and Nanostructured Materials
  • Kinetics and Dynamic Systems

Organizing Committee

Koichi Matsuo (Hiroshima University, Japan)
Tatsuo Nehira (Hiroshima University, Japan)

Special Advisor

Nobuyuki Harada (Tohoku University, Japan)
Reiko Kuroda (Chubu University, Japan)
Kenji Monde (Hokkaido University, Japan)

International Advisory Board

Jochen Autschbach (Buffalo University, USA)
Nina Berova (Columbia University, USA)
Jeanne Crassous (University of Rennes, France)
Lorenzo Di Bari (Università di Pisa, Italy)
Ben Feringa (University of Groningen, Netherlands)
Peer Fischer (Max Planck Institute, Stuttgart, Germany)
Nobuyuki Harada (Tohoku University, Japan)
Reiko Kuroda (Chubu University, Japan)
Koichi Matsuo (Hiroshima University, Japan)
Kenji Monde (Hokkaido University, Japan)
Gennaro Pescitelli (Università di Pisa, Italy)
Prasad Polavarapu (Vanderbilt University, USA)
Maria Urbanova (University of Prague, Czech Republic)
Giuliano Siligardi (Diamond Light Source, UK)

Executive Committee

Toru Asahi (Waseda University, Japan)
Hitoshi Goto (Toyohashi University of Technology, Japan)
Masaru Hashimoto (Hirosaki University, Japan)
Nobuyuki Harada (Tohoku University, Japan)
Takunori Harada (Oita University, Japan)
Yoshitane Imai (Kinki University, Japan)
Taka-aki Ishibashi (Tsukuba University, Japan)
Reiko Kuroda (Chubu University, Japan)
Kunihiro Kuwajima (University of Tokyo, Japan)
Tatsuo Nehira (Hiroshima University, Japan)
Katsuhiro Maeda (Kanazawa University, Japan)
Koichi Matsuo (Hiroshima University, Japan)
Hiroyuki Miyake (Osaka Metropolitan University, Japan)
Kenji Monde (Hokkaido University, Japan)

Tadashi Mori (Osaka University, Japan)
Yoshio Okamoto (Nagoya University, Japan)
Hisako Sato (Ehime University, Japan)
Takanori Suzuki (Hokkaido University, Japan)
Masayuki Takahashi (Tokyo Institute of Technology, Japan)
Toshikazu Takata (Hiroshima University, Japan)
Shinobu Takizawa (Osaka University, Japan)
Tohru Taniguchi (Hokkaido University, Japan)
Ken Terao (Osaka University, Japan)
Masashi Unno (Saga University, Japan)
Takehiko Wada (Tohoku University, Japan)
Hideki Yamawaki (JASCO Corporation, Japan)
Eiji Yashima (Nagoya University, Japan)

Local Organizing Committee

Takeharu Haino (Hiroshima University)
Mohamed Ibrahim (Hiroshima University)
Katsuya Inoue (Hiroshima University)
Fuminori Kato (Hiroshima University)
Koichi Matsuo (Hiroshima University)
Koji Miyamoto (Hiroshima University)
Tatsuo Nehira (Hiroshima University)
Taichi Okuda (Hiroshima University)
Hitoshi Sato (Hiroshima University)
Ryo Sekiya (Hiroshima University)
Shin-ichi Wada (Hiroshima University)


In preparation


  • Conference Venue: JMS Aster Plaza, Hiroshima, Japan
  • Address: 17-4 Kakomachi Nakaku, Hiroshima, Hiroshima, 730-0812 Japan
  • URL: http://h-culture.jp/ (Japanese)